h1

Whose Mouse Are You…really?

January 17, 2008

This was my favorite book as a young child!

whose-mouse.jpg

It also scared the crap out of me on a regular basis.

The colors still freak me out a little.

It’s about a mouse who finds himself all alone. As I recall, he spends most of the book wandering around talking to various woodland creatures who ask him why he has been abandoned by his family and sent into exile in a cold, indifferent world.

Or, as one Amazon reviewer put it:

A small grey mouse with enormous ears is asked by the narrator who he belongs to. Why, he’s nobody’s mouse!! Where’s his mother? Inside the cat!! Where’s his father?? Inside a trap!! What about his sister?? She’s lost, far, far away… My goodness!! Well, what is he going to DO about it, then?? I’ll let you read to find out his fun, creative answers to his life’s problems!

Parents dead. Sister out wandering the streets somewhere. They just don’t write children’s books like they used to.

But this was written in the 70’s, when 3 year-olds were expected to be tough. I had a job by the time I was 3. Smoked Camels unfiltered. Had my heart broken. I’d been around, see, and I knew what this mouse was feeling. Toddlers these days, they got the world handed to them on a silver platter. Barney my ass.

-Duck

6 comments

  1. My favorite books as a kid were either written by a guy whose last name was “Scarry,” or contained stories laced with language that suggested 200 years of race slavery.

    No wonder I’m a maniac.


  2. Ah, those children’s stories really inform who we are. I shudder whenever I think of them…


  3. BTW, I love the new look, Duck. It’s been a while since I’ve revisited, but it looks great.


  4. The first book I remember owning besides a really cool Pinnochio with almost 3-D effect pictures was The Giant Jam Sandwich–cowritten, interestingly enough, by Janet Burroway. I think it came out in about 1973 and I got it as part of a book membership deal for kiddos. A town is plagued by a swarm of wasps and naturally the only way to get rid of them is to bake a giant loaf of bread, slice the bread, and put jam on it. When the wasps land on it–WHAMMO! You drop the other slice of bread on ’em. It just makes sense. If we apply this concept to other problems like politicians, the middle east, health care, education, et cetera. . .so I guess the book is about civic pride and the power of people when they work together.


  5. My goodness!!!


  6. I remeber you telling me how much you loved this book. I never did find one for you



Leave a Reply

